What Once was Lost (# 1828)

22 06 2022

1.What once was lost, has now been found (paraphrase of line from Amazing Grace). When I grew out of my childhood faith in a anthropomorphic God I lost touch with the God in me. I felt a tremendous loss for many, many years. While I drew from the wisdom in Buddhism and some other traditions, I knew what I had once had in the Christian tradition so I kept coming back, going back and forth. For some time I have been reading the Medieval Christian mystics especially Meister Eckhardt and lately Julian of Norwich. For the past few days I have begin to look more closely at the Society of Friends, especially Rufus Jones (1863-1948). It was his description of quieting all thoughts to find the inner light that worked. Surprisingly, it came to me very quickly. I had been using this inner resource somewhat misinterpreting what it was. I feel whole again. I can take this God-likeness or Buddha Nature with me when I leave my home, in other words, walk with God. Now I need to work on this and find out what it means. Hopefully, a more loving, compassionate person.

2.Hymn by George Croly that maybe comes closely to what I am feeling at the moment.

Spirit of God, descend upon my heart;
Wean it from earth; through all its pulses move.
Stoop to my weakness, mighty as Thou art,
And make me love Thee as I ought to love.

Teach me to feel that Thou art always nigh;
Teach me the struggles of the soul to bear,
To check the rising doubt, the rebel sigh;
Teach me the patience of unanswered prayer.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.