Second Attempt (#198)

28 12 2008

7. Help me to drop the things clouding my vision and see more clearly, that I may recognize it when you are near.

6. Hint to myself: what is unique about this house that might attract fresh eyes? what changes? what is the essence? what is it?

5. ZRM. I am sitting here breathing deeply, having just opened my eyes. The past week or so here, I have been content to just sit. But I learned I should be asking “What is this?” and I realize that I must ask it on different levels. Since it hurts to keep my eyes open, I close them again and listen. What is that sound? On a surface level I know it is an air clearner. On a slightly deeper level I know there is a sound of a motor and a sound of air rushing through holes; I do not know which is dominant but I could take the machine apart and find out. What is it which may be deeper? Is it the air being cleaned so that I have fewer particles entering my beleagured nose? It is cleaning the air in a very limited space. If the space was not enclosed, the machine would not work. Is that a deeper level? The sound will be with me all night; I have something to ponder.

4. F. I have too much self today to get into this exercise methinks

3. The following is another try after Pema’s comment to yesterday’s blog entry:

This time I am just dropped off here. I am invited to use a vacuum cleaner. Ho Boy! I politely thank my hosts. I take it out of the closet. It is a canister model and I sort through the pieces to find what I need. I plug it in to the wall and think about the electricity. I wonder how it is generated and how far it has to travel to get here. Hmm. I have no idea. On my way here I saw power lines going north-south just east of here and other lines coming up from the southwest. Somewhere something is turning to provide the electricity to power this thing. I turn on the machine and there is a hissing noise. I look and some of the air is escaping from a crack in the housing on the underside of the vacuum cleaner. It had been duct taped and I smooth down the tape to lessen the escaping air. There is a motor in the closed pushing air out the back and thus drawing air into the not quite so air-tight housing. The air then comes up the rods I am attaching to the hose and through the hose, into the compartment and out the back. OK that part is very simple. I begin massaging the rug with the proper attachment which has a motor beating the rug. I begin to imagine what is going on down there. A little duststorm created with the beating and that being sucked up. I think of microscopic objects. The dust back is supposed to collect allergins but not dust mites. I wonder about all the germs sneezed and coughed up this week by all the family members. Are they caught by the back or am I just picking them up and spreading them around. Or does the suction or heat of the machine kill the germs? I think about the air coming out the back of the machine. What is it carrying? I watch the attachment go back and forth. I begin to study the floor inch by inch, square foot by square foot. To the germs this is a tremendous space for me it is another enclosed space.

Hmmm, was that not a good example or I am missing something. I think of the day when I was outside and saw the trees, clouds, sun and sky as if I never saw it before. I have a feeling that it is something like that I want to exerience.

2. Gr. Among other things, for PaB and my SL friends

1. TGT. Alive again for another day, at least temorarily. It is a bit ttoo early.


Actions

Information

One response

29 12 2008
playasbeing

Hi Adams,
Thank you for your new attempt to look at the world with fresh (immigrant) eyes! May I make a few other suggestions? How about:
— look “in” and “underneath” each phenomenon (appearance; what appears), along the lines of what we discussed before (underneath love a more possessive quality and under that a more neutral quality); can you similarly go into or look under sounds, sights, memories, feelings, anything that appears?
— can you do that for a somewhat longer time, now that you have more time during the holiday break, perhaps while being engaged in other activities, like going for a walk or any other kind of actions, say for half an hour or an hour?
— can you do that with a sense of not knowing what will happen next? Like in a dream, when you open a door and step into a new room, anything can happen, a new world can open itself. Can you step through a door, or turn a corner on the street with the same openness to whatever may happen, ready to be totally surprised by something fully new and unexpected?
Cheers — Pema

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.